Hotel Kriopigi Halkidiki   Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini   Babasails Yachting Halkidiki  Siviri Rental Houses  Seaview Studios  Hotel Makedonia
Posted by

Nea Roda

Nea Roda ist das größte Flüchtlingsdorf im Norden von Chalkidiki. Sie wurde unmittelbar nach der Zerstörung in Kleinasien an einem Ort namens “Provlakas” (= vor dem Avlaki = vor Xerxe’s Canal) von etwa 40 Flüchtlingsfamilien gegründet, die nach einem Jahr des Wanderns im Sommer 23 ‘nach Chalkidiki gelangten und dort kamen dieser Bereich. Sie kamen aus Roda in der Gegend von Propontida nahe dem Marmarameer oder dem “Meer des griechischen Geistes”. Im Jahr 1901 lebten etwa 700 Griechen im Dorf. Nach der Überlieferung waren sie Siedler aus Roda. Zu dieser Zeit lebten im Dorf auch etwa 100 Türken, die 1700 aus Koutali auf türkischen Befehl gekommen waren.

Das gesamte Gebiet, aber auch die weitere Region wird als Paradies dargestellt: reiches Meer und fruchtbarer Boden. Sie stellten Seide aus Seidenraupenkokons, Granitblöcke, Fisch, Obst, Oliven, Trauben, Zwiebeln und viele andere Produkte her, die sie mit Booten nach Istambul förderten. Sie hatten drei Kirchen (die größte ist die Kirche von Saint Dimitris) und eine höhere Schulstufe. Bis 1912 lebten sie glücklich. Dann begannen sich die Dinge zu ändern, als neue Türken ankamen. In allen griechischen kleinasiatischen Dörfern herrschte die Angst vor Schlachtung und Exil, mit dem bekannten Abschluss dieses schwarzen August 1922. Die Einwohner von Roda flohen auf zwei verschiedenen Wegen: Zwei Boote fuhren nach Mitilini, während die meisten auf die Insel übergehen von Aloni und danach hinüber zur Insel Marmaras. Nach 20 Tagen holte das Schiff Propontis sie ab und brachte sie in ein Karabournaki-Gebiet in Thessaloniki, um in einem Gebiet namens Saint Barbara in Ano Toumba zu landen. Dort zerstreuten sie sich in kleinen Teams.

Im Jahr 1923 erreichte das Team in Mitilini diese Region zuerst und lehnte den Ort des heutigen Ouranoupolis als klein und eng ab, sodass es einige Monate unfrei in Ierissos residierte. Dort schlugen sie vor, ihr neues Dorf nach dem Hafen von Ierissos zu errichten, aber die Einheimischen lehnten dies aus Angst vor einer zukünftigen Vereinigung ab. So wählten sie schließlich den Ort “Provlakas” und gaben ihm den offensichtlichen Namen “Nea Roda”.

Things to do

Hotel Kriopigi Halkidiki  Villa Despina green suites  Thessaloniki to Halkidiki rent a car   Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini   Minivan transfers  Siviri Rental Houses  
Posted by

Nea Roda

Nea Roda is the biggest refugee village in northern Halkidiki. It was founded immediately after the Asia Minor destruction in a place called “Provlakas” (= before the avlaki = before Xerxe’s Canal ) by roughly 40 refugee families which, after a year of roaming, reached Halkidiki in the summer of 23′ and came to this area. They came from Roda in the area of Propontida near the Marmara Sea or “Sea of the Greek spirit”.In 1901, about 700 Greek people lived in the village. According to tradition they were settlers from Roda. In the village at that time there were also about 100 Turks living here, who had come from Koutali in 1700 , by a Turkish order.

The whole area but also the wider region is presented as paradise: Rich sea and fertile soil. They produced silk from silkworm cocoons, granite in blocks, fish, fruit, olives, grapes, onions and a lot of other products,which they promoted with boats to Istambul. They had three churches (biggest being the church of Saint Dimitris) and an upgraded level of school. Up to 1912 they lived happily. Then things started to change when new Turks arrived. In all the Greek Asia Minor villages, the fear of slaughter and exile prevailed, with the known conclusion of that black August in 1922. The people of Roda fled in two different ways : Two boats left for Mitilini, while most pass over to the island of Aloni and afterwards over to the island of Marmaras. After 20 days the ship called Propontis picked them up and took them over to an area in Thessaloniki called Karabournaki, in order to end up in an area called Saint Barbara in Ano Toumba.There they scattered in small teams.

In 1923 the team in Mitilini is the one that reached this region first, rejecting the place of current Ouranoupolis considering it small and narrow so it resided for a few months off-handedly in Ierissos. There they proposed for their new village to be established after the harbour of Ierissos, but the locals were opposed to this in fear of future union. So they finally selected the place “Provlakas” and gave it the obvious name “Nea Roda”.

Partners

booking.com
Booking engine provided by booking.com


tripadvisor.com
Hotels/Apartments reviews by tripadvisor.com


Zoottle, Social WiFi for Hotels

Social Networks

Follow us on facebook Follow us on twitter View us on pinterest View us on google plus gohakidiki on instagram gohakidiki on you tube gohakidiki on linnkedin