Hotel Kriopigi Halkidiki   Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini   Babasails Yachting Halkidiki  Siviri Rental Houses  Seaview Studios  Hotel Makedonia

Пещера Петралона

Пещера ПетралонаУкрашенная многочисленными сталактитами сталагмитами пещера Петралона находится на западном склоне горы Катсика приблизительно на высоте 300 метров от уровня моря.

Пешера была обнаружена в 1959 году Филиппом Хадзаридисом – жителем деревни Петралона, и стала всемирно известной в 1960 году, когда другой житель деревни – Христос Сарриянидис – нашёл в ней череп архантропа.

Раскопки пещеры начались в 1965 году под руководством создателя антропологического общества Греции Ариса Пулияноса. Его иследования доказывают что архантроп жил 700.000 лет назад, что даёт ему титул самого древнего европейца. Результаты основанны на анализе геологических слоёв, число которых на данный момент составляет 28. Эти результаты констатируются иследованием древних инструментов периода палеолита, а также флоры и фауны отпечатки которой были найдены во всех геологических слоях. Здесь были найдены останки исчезнувших видов животных таких как львы, гиены, медведи, пантеры, слоны, носороги, бизоны и других видов оленей, а также 25 видов птиц, 16 видов грызунов и 17 видов летучих мышей.

Значительный вклад для точного определения возраста материалов найденных в пещере принадлежит ядерной физике. Иследованные материалы – это кости, сталагмиты и сажа, которая является остатками самого древнего огня когда-либо заженным от руки человека на земле.

ВРЕМЯ РАБОТЫ – ОБЩАЯ ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

Вход в пещеру открыт каждодневно с 9:00 утра до одного часа перед закатом солнца

ВНИМАНИЕ :
Запрещается использование фотоаппаратов и кинокамер, так как пещера является местом научных иследований и яркий свет (фотовспышка) может повредить окружающей среде пещеры.
Дополнительная информация : +30 23730 – 71671.

Official website: www.petralona-cave.gr

NOTE: Petralona Cave and Museum is closed to the public from 1/1/2019 due to restoration works.

Things to do

Siviri Rental Houses    Thessaloniki to Halkidiki rent a car     Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini     Minivan transfers

Petralona’s Cave

Petralona's CaveThe cave of Petralona “embellished” with stalagmites and stalactites is located in the west foot of the Katsika (Goat) mountain and in an altitude of about 300 meters from the level of sea. It was found in 1959 by the inhabitant of Petralona, Mr. Philippos Hatzaridis and it became well known all over the world in 1960, when the skull of Arhanthropos was found by another inhabitant of Petralona, Mr. Christos Sarrigiannidis.

The systematic excavations of the Cave began in 1965 by the founder of the Anthropologic Company of Greece, anthropologist professor Aris Paulianos. His researches proved that the Arhanthropos is about 700.000 years old, and this makes him the “oldest” European. This age was determined after the detailed analysis of stratigraphy (until today 28 geological layer have been revealed), and after studying the primitive and Paleolithic tools as well as the palaiofauna that were discovered in almost all the layers. Among the fossils of animals that have extinct the following are included: lions, hyenas, bears, panthers, elephants, rhinoceros, megakeroi, bison and various species of deer and hippo, and also 25 species of birds, 16 species of rodents and 17 species of bats.

In order to verify the age, the contribution of nucleonic is very important. The materials that have been dated are bones, argil, stalagmites and ashes. These are fire traces – the oldest ones that human have ever lighted.


The entrance is allowed daily from 9 a.m. to one hour before the sunsets.
There is a priority line

Taking pictures and video is not allowed, because the cave is a research place and because intense light (various lights, flash, e.t.c) can cause serious damage to the interior part of the cave (stalactite and stalagmite).

For further information please dial: +30 23730 71671.

Booking engine provided by
Hotel/Apartment reviews by

Authorized Partners

Zoottle, Social WiFi for Hotels