Hotel Kriopigi Halkidiki   Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini   Babasails Yachting Halkidiki  Siviri Rental Houses  Seaview Studios  Hotel Makedonia

Archives

Posted by

Варвара

Встроенный недалеко от красивого леса с невероятным потенциалом роста туризма. Более того, они уже создали замечательные гостевых домов, в то время как многие жители занимались заготовкой дров. С населением 712 жителей является единственным отдел муниципалитета Arnaias граничащих море

Posted by

Вавдос

Горная деревня, которая имеет интенсивно исторические и культурные особенности Халкидики. Экономика села (кроме образуют скотоводство) зависит в течение многих лет на добыче полезных ископаемых и магнезитовых месторождений. После того, как шахта закрыта в последнее десятилетие, муниципалитет и органы местного вносят важный усилия, с тем шахта вновь начнет работать

Posted by

Арнэа

Arnea Halkidiki

Арнэа, Северная – Центральная Халкидики

Арнэа является одним из самых живописных деревень в Северной Халкидики.

Это также штаб-квартира собора Иериссос, Афон и в Adrameri. Он построен на высоте 600 метров, на ногах горы Holomontas.

Фукидид упоминает Arnea под названием Арни, в то время как именно отсюда, что Vrasidas прошло во время войны Пелопоннес. По причинам, которые остаются в значительной степени неизвестными, этот древний город был разрушен и различные поселения заняла свое место в течение столетий, которые последовали. С середины 18-го века она выходит в различных источниках, в рамках Mademochoria [в вольном переводе, как “чугунных деревень”. Его жители присоединились к революции в 1821 году, и деревня была сожжена на землю Байрам Паша, на после давки восстания в Халкидиках. Они также боролись в греческой борьбы за Македонию и действительно организовал местный комитет. До 1928 его имя не было Raligova.

Arnea славится своими традиционными зданиями. Старая школа Знакомства с 1872, рядом с центральной церкви сейчас находится ратуша. Также интерес представляет пост-византийская церковь Святого Стефана (Ag. Стефанос) (1812), в то время как его колокольня датируется 1889 Некоторые из традиционных домов в Arnea были построены в первой половине 19-го века (некоторые из это пережили, но отказались), но большинство из них были построены между 1850 и 1945 (двухэтажный, каменный Год постройки сооружения с спальных комнат и подвала)

На юго-востоке, впереди него, лежит долина, полный зеленых лугов и прямо напротив него посетитель может полюбоваться леса горы Drevenikos.

Posted by

Агиос Продромос

Agios Prodromos North Halkidiki Greece

Это ти расположен у подножия горы Cholomontas и это 14 километрах от Полигироса.

Население составляет 500 жителей. Стоит отметить, что жители села пришли из разных мест Греции, таких как Morias, Ípiros, Македонии и Thraca. В основном они, включите в сельском хозяйстве, животноводстве панировке, туризма и в нескольких услуг муниципального. Продукты, которые они производят зерновые, крупного рогатого скота, традиционный хлеб и Shis шашлык.

Достопримечательности деревни включают реку, которая пересекает деревню, которая окружена дикой растительностью. Существует также красивая площадь, которая обогнул таверн. Довольно важным является ссылка на страновом Церковь Агиос Продромос, один из пост-византийских стран церквей Халкидики, который имеет значительную ценность для людей

Posted by

Таксиархис

Taxiarhis North Halkidiki

Таксиархис Северная – Центральная Халкидики

Таксиархис построен рядом с короной горы Cholomontas на высоте 650 м.

Традиция conects Таксиархисс Святой горы и особенно с монастыря Dohiarios и монастырской зависимости Архангела Михаила. Это предыдущее название было Lokovi и был официально назван Таксиархис в 1928 в честь святого покровителя деревни, Архангела Михаила

Posted by

Стратони

Стратони находится 102 км от города Салоники и 56 км от Polygiros. Древний военный мемориал, который был найден в регионе (1 веке до н.э.), и это имеет внушительные статуи, гробницы, сосуды и т.д., указывает положение были город Стратоникея процветала, который расположен в так называемой позиции «Elaionas” из сообщество Stratonion, где часть общественного римском здании был раскопан.

Город был, возможно, установлены Димитриос Полиоркитис, в честь его матери Stratoniki или его дочь. Около 35 лет назад военный мемориал в Стратони был исследован, что находится могила-памятник, было два мужских и один женский статуи, хорошо известный “Despoina” из Стратони, который подвергается в Музей Polygiros. Надписи, которые нашли там, показать, что памятник датируется в годы Иисуса.

Posted by

Стагира

Стагира является birthtown из Aristotles . Установлено, построенный у подножияStratoniki Mountain ( Strempenikos ) , на высоте 500 примерно метров. На въезде в деревню , посетители могут посетить парк , в котором Статуя Aristotles гордо стоит в окружении памятников, таких как башни, общественные бани и башни Madem Ага , от периода Sidirokafsia . Sidirokafsia был административным центром региона , и имел свой монетный двор . Далее вниз идти к деревне , мы видим центральный храм, посвященный “День рождения Девы Марии ” . Это большое историческое значение , и был построен в 1814 году с помощью Hilandari монастыря на Афоне .

Также очень интересным является небольшая часовня , посвященная ” Девы Марии в Spilotissa ” , построенный в скале. В этой области большое село праздник происходит , на 8 сентября . Посетители могут ходить в everygreen путей с панорамным видом . Есть около 500 жителей , которые живут в деревне сегодня, и они имеют дело в основном с эксплуатацией горного богатства и лесов . Красивый и исторический деревня Стагира расположен над центральной дороги в Салониках – Ouranoupolis около 8 километров от моря.

Posted by

Метагисти

Metagitsi Sithonia Halkidiki

Деревня Метагисти расположен южнее префектуры Халкидики, среди полуострове Agio Oros и Ситония и после Агиос Николаос на высоте около 150 м.

Северо-восток, есть холмы “Marmarades”, где археологические исследования помещает древний город “Асса”.

Метагисти стал известен как вегетативной муниципалитета в 1920 году. До тех пор это была принадлежал муниципалитету Агиос Николаос. Некоторые из граждан заняты сельским хозяйством, другой с сельским хозяйством и некоторые другие со строительными рабочих мест.

Метагисти также производит оливковое масло, вино, и ципуро.

ASSOCIATION of TOURIST ACCOMMODATION “XENIOS ZEUS”

 

 

ASSOCIATION of TOURIST ACCOMMODATION “XENIOS ZEUS”

Posted by

Олимпиада

Природная красота и археологические памятники великой исторический интерес привлечь посетителей, которые приезжают в Olympiada впервые, как они сочетают в себе море деятельность с осмотром достопримечательностей и знания.

Олимпиада находится на Стримоникос залива, на северо-восточной стороне полуострова Халкидики, всего в 95 км от города Салоники, через Ставрос

Posted by

Неа Рода

Неа Рода является крупнейшим деревня беженцев в северной Халкидики. Он был основан сразу после Малой Азии уничтожения в месте под названием ” Provlakas ” ( = перед Avlaki = до канала Xerxe в ) примерно на 40 семей беженцев , которые , после года роуминг , достигло Халкидики летом 23 ‘и пришел к эта область . Они приехали из Рода в области Propontida возле Мраморного моря или ” море греческого духа ” . В 1901 году около 700 греческий народ жил в деревне . По традиции они были переселенцы из Рода. В деревне в то время были и около 100 турок , живущих здесь , приехавшие из Koutali в 1700 году, турецкой порядке.

Вся область , но и в регионе в целом представлена как рай : Рич моря и плодородные почвы. Они произвели шелк из коконов тутового шелкопряда , гранита в блоках , рыбы, фруктов , оливок, винограда , лука и много других продуктов, которые они способствовали с лодками в Стамбул. У них было три церкви ( наиболее крупные среди них церковь Святого Dimitris ) и модернизированную уровень школы . До 1912 они жили долго и счастливо . Тогда ситуация начала меняться , когда новые турки прибыли . Во всех деревнях Греческий Малой Азии , страх убоя и изгнании преобладали , с известным заключения этой черной августа в 1922 году. Народ Рода бежали двумя различными способами : Две лодки уехал в Mitilini , в то время как наиболее перейти на остров Алони а потом на остров из Мармарас . Через 20 дней судно называется Пропонтиде поднял их и взял их в руки площадью в Салониках призвал Karabournaki , для того, чтобы в конечном итоге в районе под названием Святая Варвара в Ано Toumba.There они рассеянного в небольших группах .

Posted by

Иериссос

Иериссос является старейшим и крупнейшим деревня муниципалитета с 3118 жителей. Об этом сообщает историков как продолжение древней Acanthus , который был колонией Андрос с 7-го века до нашей эры и важный город Македонии Местные жители дело в основном с рыбалки и туризма . За последние годы , важно профессиональная деятельность связана с Афона также разработал .

Это является важным гавань для Северной Греции с большим количеством промысловой деятельности . Рыбы найдено в заливе Иериссос хорошо известны за их вкус на протяжении всей Греции .

Песчаные пляжи , а также в прямом эфире развлечений предлагается в Иериссос делают его уникальным местом для отдыха. Впечатляющий социальной и культурной деятельности из корней жителей уходят в глубь веков и образец этого являются многие традиционные песни , которые остаются в живых и до сих пор пели до сегодняшнего дня .

Много ассоциаций были созданы с различными деятельности , incuding культурное объединение ” Kligenis ” , Ассоциация “Друзья окружающей среды ” , а музыка ассоциацию ” Acanthus ” . Есть также много профессиональных ассоциаций ( рыбалка, торговля, строители ассоциации и т.д.)

Posted by

Гомати

Гомати, расположена зона с богатыми природными окрестностями и многочисленными возможностями использования информации, доступной. Инициатива муниципалитета, Гомати продемонстрировала прекрасные углы, если завершены реабилитации площадей, мест зрелище, улучшенные дороги, реабилитирован гидротехнические сооружения и канализация (биологическая очистка), а также телекоммуникационной сети.

Posted by

Стратоники

Стратоники является одним из горных деревень в муниципалитете , с панорамным видом на залив Иериссос и полуостров Афон . Это один из mademohoria и местных жителей – в основном в старые времена – был как добыча основным занятием . Считается, что деревня была построена царем Македонии Perdikas , в честь своего брата Стратоники

Posted by

Никити

Nikiti Sithonia - Credit : eroll

Никити Халкидики Греция

Никити расположен в 90 км от города Салоники. Сочетание моря и гор позволяет посетителю выбрать.

Деревенские улицы и пути, которые можно ходить и любоваться сохранившиеся дома с 1830, церковь Святого Никиты и старой школы.

Пляж Nikiti.It несколько кафе и баров, которые предлагают легкий веселья и отдыха на берегу моря.

Мы, однако, не будет терять 15 сентября является праздник празднование изображением Святого Никиты.

Где остановиться

деятельность

————————-
Photo credits: Enroll
Posted by

Парфенонас

Parthenonas Sithonia Halkidiki

Парфенон, Ситония Халкидики

Традиционная деревня в 5 км от Неос Мармарас. Посетите его и найти традиционную каменную деревню лесом.

Имя Parthenonas упоминается в документах 10-го века, но не так много информации о самой деревне и ее роли в прошлом. В 1970 году сайт был заново открыт и назвали заброшенную деревню Ситония, так как только брошенных и разрушенных домов были найдены в нем.

Где остановиться

деятельность

 

Posted by

Сарти

Sarti Sithonia Halkidiki

Сарти Ситония Халкидики

Сарти расположен в восточной части Ситония.

Названный вероятно, от древнего города, который был там, так как Геродот упоминает этот древний город как станция кампании Ксеркса.

Красивый курорт, где вы можете найти уникальный закрыты изолированных пляжей с бирюзовыми водами и белым песком.

Есть помещения, которые обещают вам комфортный отдых.
Для любителей природы найдет и организованная кемпинг.
Свежая рыба и традиционные тушеные блюда можно найти в ресторанах и тавернах.

Где остановиться

деятельность

Posted by

Сикья

Sykia Sithonia Halkidiki

Ския (Сикиа) Ситония Халкидики

Ския является самым южным деревня полуострова Ситония на полуострове Халкидики, в 160 км от г. Салоники на расстоянии. Дома сохранить их традиционный характер в связи с монастырской архитектуры. 3 км от традиционной деревни вы найдете пляж Ския.

Наиболее famus и удивительные пляжи в Ския является Pigadaki и Kriaritsi пляж.
На пути к Kriaritsi увидеть лабиринт дорог с твердым покрытием, которые были сделаны несколько лет назад для массивного курорта, но с тех пор были заброшены.

культурная ассоциация Ския называется “Sykiotakia”.

Где остановиться

No posts found.

деятельность

— Main Photo Credit : George Tsamakdas  & Giannis Kotronis

Posted by

Торони

Toroni Sithonia Halkidiki

Торони Ситония Халкидики

Торони населен с доисторических времен. Читайте на Древнем Торони.

Торони это потрясающий древний пляж, который тянется примерно 2,5 км. Порту полый двойной Торони Порто Куфо, который является крупнейшим и самым безопасным естественная гавань в Греции. На побережье есть ряд пещер, которые можно исследовать с достаточным вниманием, конечно, либо вплавь или на лодке.

Хороший рыбалки идеально подходит для подводного подводного плавания. Здесь вы должны быть раз напомнил, что “уважение моря является лучшим способом наслаждения.”

Рекомендовать съесть свежую рыбу в области.

деятельность

Posted by

Ватопеди

Halkidiki Greece

Ватопеди Ситония Халкидики

Ватопеди является урегулирование тех беженцев, которые прибыли из Ближнего Востока и поселился в деревне после погибели Ближнего Востока.

Он построен из холма на восточном берегу реки Havria, на расстоянии в 5 км от Ormylia.It получило свое название от того, что поселение беженцев было принято на свойстве Batopedi монастыря Афона , который затем экспроприированы.

С 1971 года поселок был независимым сообществом.

Posted by

Псакудья

Psakoudia Halkidiki

Псакудия Ситония Халкидики

Псакудия является морской порт Ормилии и его урегулирование собирает большую часть туристской деятельности и развитию региона.

Он построен на берегу моря и на дорожной сети Салоники-Халкидики, Ситония. Это, главным образом, курорт, на приморском районе, очень красивый и легко доступны. Он имеет 120 жителей, которые в основном занятые туризма, в то время как в летнее время население подходит к 4,000 жителей.

Порт Старый’S карьер и урегулирование Псакудия. Инфраструктура поселка включает в себя 4 больших отелей (600 мест, полностью), около 500 номеров, чтобы, лагерь и множество ресторанов, кондитерских и кафе.

Где остановиться

деятельность

Things to do

Hotel Kriopigi Halkidiki   Sunday Summer Resort, Gerakini   Babasails Yachting Halkidiki  Siviri Rental Houses  Prive Cruises for Group  

Archives

Posted by

Varvara

Built near a beautiful forest with incredible growth potential of tourism. Moreover, they have already created remarkable guesthouses, while many residents engaged in logging. With a population of 712 inhabitants is the only department of the Municipality Arnaias bordering sea

Posted by

Vavdos

A mountainous village, which has intensively the historic and cultural characteristics of Halkidiki. The economy of the village (apart form the cattle breeding) depended for many years on the exploitation of minerals and magnesite deposits. After the mine closed down the last decade, the Municipality and the local bodies are making important efforts so as the mine starts operating again.

Posted by

Arnea

Arnea Halkidiki

Arnea, North – Central Halkidiki

Arnea is one of the most picturesque villages of North Halkidiki.

It is also the headquarters of the Cathedral of Ierissos, Mount Athos and of Adrameri. It is built on an altitude of 600 meters, on the feet of the Holomontas mountain.

Thucydides mentions Arnea under the name of Arni, while it is from here that Vrasidas passed during the Peloponnese War. For reasons that remain largely unknown, this ancient city was destroyed and various settlements took its place during the centuries that followed. From the middle of the 18th century it emerges in various sources, as part of the Mademochoria [loosely translated as “cast iron villages”. Its residents joined the Revolution in 1821 and the village was burned to the ground by Bayram Pasa, on the aftermath of the crush of the uprising in Halkidiki. They also have fought in the Greek Struggle for Macedonia and indeed organized a local committee. Until 1928 its name was Raligova.

Arnea is renowned for its traditional buildings. The old school dating from 1872 next to the central church now houses the town hall. Also of interest is the post-Byzantine church of St. Stephan (Ag. Stefanos) (1812), while its bell tower dates from 1889. Some of the traditional houses in Arnea were built in the first half of the 19th century (few of these have survived but are abandoned), but most were built between 1850 and 1945 (two-storey, stone build edifices with sleeping rooms and cellar)

In the southeast, ahead of it, lies a valley full of green meadows and right across it the visitor can admire the forests of the Drevenikos mountain.

Posted by

Agios Prodromos

Agios Prodromos North Halkidiki Greece

Agios Prodromos located at the foothill of mount Holomontas and it’s 14 km away from Poligiros.

The population amounts to 500 residents. It is worth mentioning that the village residents come from different places of Greece such as Morias, Ipiros, Macedonia and Thrace. They mostly activate at agriculture, cattle-breading, tourism. The products they produce are cereals, traditional bread and great souvlaki.

The village’s sights include the river that crosses the village which is surrounded by wild vegetation. There is also the beautiful square which is skirted by taverns. Quite important is the reference to the country curch of Agios Prodromos, one of the post-Byzantine country churches of Halkidiki, that has significant value for the people.

Posted by

Taxiarhis

Taxiarhis North Halkidiki

Taxiarhis, North – Central Halkidiki

Taxiarhis is built near the crown of mount Holomontas at altitude of 650 m. The tradition conects Taxiarhis with Agio Oros(Holy Mountain) and especially with the monastery of Dohiarios and the monastery dependency of Archangel Michael. It’s previous name was Lokovi and was officially named Taxiarhis in 1928 after the patron saint of the village, Archangel Michael.

It is 25 klm away from Polygyros and according to the inventory of 2001 the population amounts to 1078 people.

The people mainly deal with woodcutting, produce of cordwood, agriculture and cattlebreeding. Also reputable are the builters, the stonecutters and the craftsmen from Taxiarhis who work all over Halkidiki. Many women deal with weaving, knitting and needlework, while important part of income emanates from the culture of fir for christmas trees.

Finally, continuously more people deal with agritourism.

Posted by

Stratoni

Stratoni is located 102 km away from Thessaloniki and 56 km away from Polygiros. An ancient war memorial, which was found in the region (1st century b.c.) and it has impressive statues, tomb, vessels, e.t.c , indicates the position were the city Stratonikeia flourished which is located in the so-called position “Elaionas” of the community Stratonion, where a part of a public roman building has been excavated.

The city was possibly established by Dimitrios Poliorkitis, to honor his mother Stratoniki or his daughter. About 35 years ago a war memorial in Stratoni was researched, that is a tomb –monument, which had two male and one female statues, the well known “Despoina” of Stratoni, which is exposed to the Museum of Polygiros. The inscriptions that found there, show that the monument is dated in the years of Jesus.

For further information you can visit our friendly site www.stratoni.net

Posted by

Stagira

Stagira is the birthtown of Aristotles. It is found built on the foot the Stratoniki Mountain(Strempenikos), at an altitude of 500 roughly metres. At the entrance of the village, visitors can visit the park in which the Statue of Aristotles stands proudly surrounded by monuments such as towers, public baths and the tower of Madem Aga, from the period of Sidirokafsia. Sidirokafsia was the administrative centre of the region,and had its own mint. Further down going to the village, we see the central temple dedicated to the “Birthday of the Virgin Mary”. It is of great historical importance, and was built in 1814 with the help of the Hilandari Monastery on Mount Athos.

Also very interesting is the small chapel dedicated to the “Virgin Mary the Spilotissa” built in rock. In this area the big village feast takes place , on the 8th of September. Visitors can walk in the everygreen paths with a panoramic view. There are about 500 residents that live in the village today and they deal mainly with the exploitation of mining wealth and forests. The beautiful and historical village of Stagira is located above the central road of Thessaloniki – Ouranoupolis approximately 8 kilometres from the sea.

Posted by

Metagitsi

Metagitsi Sithonia Halkidiki

The village Metaggitsi is situated southward of the prefecture of Halkidiki, among the peninsula of Mount Athos and Sithonia and after Agios Nikolaos at a height about 150m.

Northeast, there are the hills “Marmarades” where the archaeologic research situates the ancient town “Assa”.

Metaggitsi became known as an autonomic municipality at 1920. Until then it was belonged to the municipality of Agios Nikolaos . Some of the citizens are occupied with agriculture, other with farming and some other with building jobs. Metaggitsi also produces olive oil, wine, and tsipouro.

ASSOCIATION of TOURIST ACCOMMODATION “XENIOS ZEUS”

Posted by

Olympiada

The natural beauty and the archaeological sites of great historic interest attract the visitors who come to Olympiada for the first time, as they combine sea activities with sightseeing and knowledge.

Olympiada is located on the Strimonikos Gulf, on the northeastern side of Halkidiki and is only 95 km from Thessaloniki, through Stavros.

Posted by

Nea Roda

Nea Roda is the biggest refugee village in northern Halkidiki. It was founded immediately after the Asia Minor destruction in a place called “Provlakas” (= before the avlaki = before Xerxe’s Canal ) by roughly 40 refugee families which, after a year of roaming, reached Halkidiki in the summer of 23′ and came to this area. They came from Roda in the area of Propontida near the Marmara Sea or “Sea of the Greek spirit”.In 1901, about 700 Greek people lived in the village. According to tradition they were settlers from Roda. In the village at that time there were also about 100 Turks living here, who had come from Koutali in 1700 , by a Turkish order.

The whole area but also the wider region is presented as paradise: Rich sea and fertile soil. They produced silk from silkworm cocoons, granite in blocks, fish, fruit, olives, grapes, onions and a lot of other products,which they promoted with boats to Istambul. They had three churches (biggest being the church of Saint Dimitris) and an upgraded level of school. Up to 1912 they lived happily. Then things started to change when new Turks arrived. In all the Greek Asia Minor villages, the fear of slaughter and exile prevailed, with the known conclusion of that black August in 1922. The people of Roda fled in two different ways : Two boats left for Mitilini, while most pass over to the island of Aloni and afterwards over to the island of Marmaras. After 20 days the ship called Propontis picked them up and took them over to an area in Thessaloniki called Karabournaki, in order to end up in an area called Saint Barbara in Ano Toumba.There they scattered in small teams.

In 1923 the team in Mitilini is the one that reached this region first, rejecting the place of current Ouranoupolis considering it small and narrow so it resided for a few months off-handedly in Ierissos. There they proposed for their new village to be established after the harbour of Ierissos, but the locals were opposed to this in fear of future union. So they finally selected the place “Provlakas” and gave it the obvious name “Nea Roda”.

Posted by

Ierissos

Ierissos is the oldest and biggest village of the Municipality with 3118 residents. It is reported by historians as the continuation of Ancient Acanthus , which was a colony of Andros since the 7th century B.C and an important city of Macedonia The local residents deal mainly with fishing and tourism. During the more recent years,important professional activity related to Mount Athos has also developed.

It constitutes an important harbour for Northern Greece with lots of fishing activity .The fishes found in the gulf of Ierissos are well known for their taste throughout all of Greece.

The sandy beaches as well as the live amusement offered in Ierissos make it a unique place for vacations. The impressive social and cultural activity of the residents roots go back centuries and a sample of this are the many traditional songs that remain alive and are still sang up to today.

A lot of associations have been founded with a variety of activities,incuding the cultural association “Kligenis”, the association “Friends of Environment”, and the music association “Acanthus “. There are also lots of professional associations (fishing, trade, builders association etc)

Posted by

Gomati

Gomati, is a beautiful area with rich natural surroundings and numerous possibilities of utilizing information available. Initiative of the Municipality, Gomati has showcased the beautiful corners, if completed rehabilitations squares, spaces sight, improved roads, rehabilitated waterworks and sewerage (biological treatment) as well as telecommunications network.
The residents of Gomati engaged in farming activities, farming, logging, fishing and mining. Gomati waters are abundant, but there is no organized water supply, leading to run roadside unexploited. If there was a coordinated use of water, combined with the fertility of the soil and the climate, there could be all kinds of crop products. These shortages are a limiting factor for creating agrotourism current.
Posted by

Stratoniki

Stratoniki is one of the mountainous villages within the Municipality, with a panoramic view towards the gulf of Ierissos and the peninsula of Athos. It is one of the mademohoria and the locals – mainly during the old days – had as main occupation mining. It is believed that the village was built by the king of Macedonia Perdikas,in honour of his brother Stratonikis.

Stratoniki’s big acne began in 1530 during the reign of the sultan Souleiman the 1st. He reorganized the mines of the Ottoman empire, that were known in the region since the Byzantine period such as Sidirokafsia and Siderokava. During that time apart from Greeks,workers of many other nationalities (Bulgarians, Serbs,Turks, Albanians, Jews, and even German as technicians) came to the area in search of work.

The acne of the mines turned Stratoniki into a big and flourishing centre, as there were more than 6.000 workers, in the 500-600 furnaces, scattered in the mountains. All this constituted a small Babel, as many languages were spoken by the the workers of various origins. Greek, Spanish-Jewishand a lot of Balkan languages.

The Jews practised mainly the money-changing profession and it seems that there were many of them because they dominated the market. The Jewish money-changers and Turkish tenants of the mines bought from the miners silver at state prices. It is not therefore by no means strange if Spanish was imposed as the common language of agreement. In any case, Greek and Serbian were spoken by the villagers in the market where they came to in order to sell their products. Thus, when the Jews kept their shops closed, the market would die down so consequently the days off in Sidirokafsia were two, Saturdays for the Jews and Sundays for the Christians.

It has been determined that by the mid 16th century, the sultan took from the mines, minerals valued about 20.000-30.000 golden coins. In Sidirokafsia it is believed that a mint functioned since the period of Murat the 2nd ! (1421-1451).

Source: Official Site of Municipality

Posted by

Nikiti

Nikiti Sithonia - Credit : eroll

Nikiti Sithonia Halkidiki

Nikiti is located 90 km from Thessaloniki. A combination of sea and mountain lets the visitor choose.
The village streets and paths that one can walk and admire the preserved homes from 1830, the church of Agios Nikitas and old school.
Beach of Nikiti.It are several cafes and bars which offer a touch of fun and relaxation by the sea.
We however will not lose on 15 September is the feast day celebration of the image of St. Nikita.

Where to stay

Things to do

————————-
Photo credits: Enroll
Posted by

Parthenonas

Parthenonas Sithonia Halkidiki

Parthenonas, Sithonia Halkidiki

Traditional village 5 km from Neos Marmaras. Visit it and find a traditional stone village by the forest.

The name Parthenonas is mentioned in documents from 10th century but there is no much information about the village itself and its role in the past. In 1970 the site was rediscovered and called The abandoned village of Sithonia since only abandoned and ruined houses were found in it.

Where to stay

Things to do

Posted by

Sarti

Sarti Sithonia Halkidiki

Sarti Sithonia Halkidiki

Sarti is located in the eastern part of Sithonia.

Named probably from the ancient city that was there, since Herodotus mentions this ancient city as a station of the campaign of Xerxes.

Beautiful resort where you can find unique closed isolated beaches with turquoise waters and white sand.

There are accommodations that promise you a comfortable holiday.
For the lovers of nature will find and organized camping.
Fresh fish and traditional stews can be found in restaurants and taverns.

Where to stay

Things to do

Posted by

Sykia

Sykia Sithonia Halkidiki

Sykia (Sikia) Sithonia Halkidiki

Sykia is the southernmost village of Sithonia peninsula in Halkidiki, 160 km distance from Thessaloniki. The houses retain their traditional character in regard to the monastic architecture. 3 km away from the traditional village you will find the Sykia beach.

The most famus and amazing beaches in Sykia is Pigadaki and Kriaritsi beach.
On the way to Kriaritsi see the maze of paved roads, which were made some years back for a massive resort but have since been abandoned.

the cultural association of Sykia called “The Sykiotakia”.

Where to stay

No posts found.

Things to do

— Main Photo Credit : George Tsamakdas  & Giannis Kotronis

Posted by

Toroni

Toroni Sithonia Halkidiki

Toroni Sithonia Halkidiki

Toroni is inhabited since prehistoric times. Read on for the Ancient Toroni.
Toroni is a stunning pristine beach which stretches approximately 2.5 km. Porto hollow double Toroni is Porto Koufo, which is the largest and safest natural harbor in Greece. On the coast there are a number of caves that you can explore with enough attention, of course, either by swimming or by boat.
Nice fishing spot ideal for underwater snorkeling. Here you should be reminded again that “respect for the sea is the best way of enjoyment.”
Recommend to eat fresh fish in the area.

Things to do

Posted by

Vatopedi

Halkidiki Greece

Vatopedi, Sithonia Halkidiki

Vatopedi is the settlement of those refugees who came from Near East and settled in the village after the Near East Ruin.

It is built of a hill on the east coast of the Havria river, at a distance of only 5 km from Ormylia.It owes its name to the fact that the settlement of the refugees was made on the property of the Batopedi Monastery of Mount Athos, which was then expropriated.

Since 1971 the settlement was a independent community.

Posted by

Psakoudia

Psakoudia Halkidiki

Psakoudia Sithonia Halkidiki

Psakoudia is the seaport of Ormylia and its settlement gathers the largest part of the tourist activity and development of the region.

It is built by the sea and on the road net ThessalonikiSithonia. It is a mainly a resort, on a seaside area, very beautiful and easily accessible. It has 120 residents who are mainly occupied with tourism, while during summertime the population comes up to 4.000 habitants.

The old’s quarry port and the Settlement of Psakoudia. The settlement’s infrastructure includes 4 big hotels (600 beds, totally), about 500 rooms to let, a camp and many restaurants, confectionaries and cafes.

In 1993 the Ministry of Environment, Physical Planning and Public Works approved an urban design on the expansion of the settlement in a region of 600 acres of communal land, which provides a lot of potentials for the future development of the settlement.

Where to stay

Things to do

Things to do